Feeling Good

Today was a good day. I changed my route somewhat today. The Saguaro National Park has quite an extensive trail network. I am truly blessed to live only 5 miles away. If my only option was asphalt it would be much harder. For those of you that have never experienced the desert in the winter, it is a must. Especially if you are in cold country. Today was in the 60’s with a slight breeze. Perfect conditions for a hard effort. I ran into a couple different people on horseback – even the horses had a smile on their face.

Reality is sinking in on the fact of my attempt to complete this 100 mile race (third attempt). Like I said before, the first attempt was when I was 40 years young and now I am 53 years old. When I look back, I could kick myself in the ass for not getting this over with many years ago. For right now I am extremely driven to make sure the training is on track as to insure a successful race. Still have 6 months to go. Staying motivated will be a challenge. Running 80-100 miles a week can take a toll on your body and mind. Realizing if I do not finish, it would be necessary to go back in 2010. NO WAY!!!!

Total miles logged today = 13

Saying of the day – “There is nothing noble in being superior to some other man. The true nobility is being superior to your former self” (Unknown) This is one of my favorites

Leave a Reply

