My computter is back from the doctor

Sooooooooooo sorry folks !!!  My computer caught a mean virus the other day.  Just came back from the computer doctor.

I am sure Nana G is thrilled.  She needs her daily fix of this blog site.

As far as my training for The Leadville 100 I was supposed to do a 26 mile on December 31, 2008.  My oldest daughter’s birthday is on this day and so I was persuaded to party instead and go yesterday (Jan. 1, 2009)

The Rincon Mountains are amazing.  There was water running in places that I have never seen running. To see  this is a true blessing.  You can also see that my new mountain buddy (son-in-law Paul) was with me.  Paul has never been on the top of the Rincons and was ecstatic to be able to go.  He was not disappointed.  We ended up taking a little detour to see Grass Shack Campground.  To be able to do this we had to go an additional 3 miles.  That my friends was a 29 mile day. 

No one had been up at the top since Dec 23, 2008.  With approx. 6″ of fresh snow on the ground and no foot tracks to follow we had to be extra careful not to get off the trail.  We saw plenty of tracks from deer,mountain lion and turkey. Lots of activity.  At the high elevation you see the Coues deer. These are white tail deer that are only found in this part of the world.  They tend to be smaller and more elusive than the mule deer.  We kicked up the biggest white tail buck that I have ever seen.  A decent sized white tailed Coues  deer is about 120 lbs.  This buck had to be between 150 – 170 lbs.  A true trophy buck.  This deer is in the Saguaro National Park where hunting is prohibited.  His only predator is a mountain lion.  Obviously this buck knows how to avoid lions.  Appeared to be 6 – 7 years old.  Sure wish I could of taken a photo.

Hopefully today’s picture will inspire you.

Total miles logged:  29

Leave a Reply

