Victory !!! Ran 3 out of 7 miles today

What an awesome day.  Just gorgeous (high of 70 degrees).  The last 2 days my son in law Paul has been with me.  Paul is currently training for his 1st fight in the MMA (mixed martial arts).  He said that he needed work with his cardio.  He has sure come to the right place.  We’ll have him ready to go.

If you have been reading my blog, my lower right calf muscle has really been bothering me lately.  Mostly power hiking and such.  Today though I was able to run 3 out of the 7  logged miles today.  For those true trail runners out there you can relate to how excited I am right now.

The pictures today are incredible.  With the rain and snow we have had lately a lot of the water falls and streams are running.  Just coming out of a 10 year drought, I have only seen water like this a handful of times over the last decade.  It is a true blessing to experience this.  The trails were very well traveled today.  Normally there are only several hikers.  Nice to have people coming out to see the wonders.  Saw an old friend of mine Joe Dana out training for a 50 mile race in March.  Joe is 72 years old.  Can you believe it ?  I can only pray to be as fortunate as him.

If all works out I will definitely be going on my 26 mile excursion to the summit of  the Rincon Mtns.  Paul wants to go and it is always nice to have someone along. I was telling Paul today that out of the 80,000 miles that I have ran only several hundred have been with other runners.  Not too many interested in this craziness.  I’ve been told that it is a sickness.  Bring it on.  See ya’ll tomorrow.

Saying of the day – “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent” (Eleanor Roosevelt)

One Response to “Victory !!! Ran 3 out of 7 miles today”

  1. Ginger Says:

    Hope your calf feels better soon. Paul really enjoys hiking with you. Keep it going. One of these days I will maybe be as crazy as you guys and join you. As for now I love just looking at the pictures. Your 1 day closer to leadville. Can’t wait to cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

