A Great day to be alive

What a great day to be alive.  The rain has stopped and back to full sunshine.  I have a love/hate relationship with Tucson.  There is no other place I’d rather be in the winter than Tucson.  Tucson has the most ideal weather in the world from Nov – April.  Look out though after April !!!  The furnace is fired up .  By August the long sunshine days and the 100 + degree weather has worn me out.  The plan for 2009 is to leave Tucson and travel the U.S.A. to train for the leadville trail 100 (www.leadvilletrail100.com) and then head for the northeast to spend September with my sister Karen and watch the leaves turn

As I’m writing here, my lovely wife has brought me a plate with eggs, toast and a cup of   joe.  Living in Paradise .  It doesn’t get any better.   

My sore calf muscle seems a little better today.  Think I’ll head out to run the Douglas Springs Trail and maybe go for another 6 miles.  Today will have a lot more elevation gain than the cactus forest trail.  Running the day after a rain is almost as great as running in the rain.  Should be an awesome run.

For those of you thinking this guy is going to run 100 miles should’t he be running more than 6 miles a day ?  Yes he should !!!  Should be adding more mileage per day soon.  Eventually I will be running approx. 60-90 miles a week depending on my schedule.  Long runs will be 30 + miles once a week .  Also there will be several overnite runs from 8 pm to 8 am to get used to running on sleep deprivation.  Now you see why I probably will not run another 100 mile event.  A 50 mile event gives me more than enough pain, exhilaration and sense of accomplishment for a day.

I will be back later to tell you all about my traing run.  See ya.

I’m back.  I thought I died and went to heaven.  How can any place be more beautiful than the desert in the winter ?  You know what  –  I am living in heaven on earth.  I love this life of mine.  To not believe in a Supeme being is uncomprehensible to me.  There is no way all this just happened.  God is so gracious.  Wherever you happen to be get outside and enjoy the wonders.  It doesn’t matter if you have 21 feet of snow or it is 5 degrees out. Remember “THAT THE GAME OF LIFE IS ALWAYS ON  – AND THE GAME OF LIFE IS TO BE PLAYED FULL OUT’  (Total miles run today: 6)

This season is special in that it brings family and friends together.  Have a servant heart and put others ahead of yourself.  Be a giver and not a taker!! Stay safe and warm tonight and we will talk tomorrow morning.

Saying of the day:

“Live life to the fullest – Do not go to the grave bored” (Tom Dobosz)

Leave a Reply

